GCCA+ Cuba, Municipality of Martí: Towards a low-carbon sustainable development model

At a glance

As Small Island Developing State, Cuba ́s natural resources and economy are strongly affected by climate change. Energy and food (imports and production) are the most vulnerable sectors and the greatest Green House Gas (GHG) emitters (76 % and 15 % respectively as per data of the National Determined Contributions). Sustainable bioenergy and agroecology are recognized as innovative economic models that would allow Cuba in keeping low carbon and environmental footprints while pursuing energy and food sovereignty, provided the necessary biomass to produce bioenergy is produced in a sustainable way. In that sense, the Renewable Energy Directive defines sustainability criteria that have been reinforced in its recast (RED II). This GCCA+ action foresees to upgrade the use of sustainable biogas and brings the production of biomethane for public transport in a rural context, where fuel shortage is a limitation to productive and social activities. Agroecology’s principles, citizen participation and improved Municipality’s management and governance skills will help promote social and economic inclusion and environmental sustainability of this innovative solution and test which are the opportunities of replication and scaling up in Cuba. The action will directly benefit the 22 000 habitants of Martí by providing a cleaner and more efficient transport service, healthier agriculture products and better working conditions in farms, increased resilience of the agriculture and energy sectors and decreased GHG emissions.

Duration
2020-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Status
Active programmes
Région
Caraïbes
Pays
Cuba
Total budget
4,40 M€
Sector(s)
GCCA priority area(s)
Countries

Les contributions nationales déterminées (NDC) de Cuba montrent bien comment les ressources naturelles et l'économie ont été fortement affectées par la dégradation de l'environnement (salinisation et dégradation des sols, espèces envahissantes, pollution de l'eau et de l'air), les impacts du changement climatique (élévation du niveau de la mer, salinisation de l'eau, augmentation de la température de 0,9°C et diminution de 10% des précipitations) et l'intensification des phénomènes météorologiques et climatiques extrêmes (ouragans tropicaux et sécheresses) .

L'énergie et l'agriculture sont les secteurs les plus vulnérables et les plus grands émetteurs de GES (76 % et 15 % respectivement). Ces deux secteurs sont fondés sur des modèles économiques conventionnels, fortement dépendants des combustibles fossiles et des intrants externes non durables. Les importations pour les deux secteurs, qui représentent environ 80 % des besoins nationaux, exposent le pays à d'autres chocs externes, à savoir les fluctuations des prix mondiaux et le renforcement de l'embargo économique.

Dans la poursuite de la souveraineté énergétique et alimentaire, le ministère de l'économie et de la planification (MEP) reconnaît la bioénergie et l'agroécologie comme des modèles économiques innovants qui permettront à Cuba de maintenir une faible empreinte carbone et environnementale tout en satisfaisant les besoins du peuple cubain. Toutefois, cela dépend de l'approvisionnement en biomasse dans des conditions durables, afin d'éviter les impacts négatifs tels que la déforestation, la perte de biodiversité ou la réduction des puits de carbone. L'utilisation de résidus et de fumier pour produire de la bioénergie, conformément aux principes de l'économie circulaire, est également une option. En 2017, les énergies renouvelables (ER) représentaient 4,5 % de la production totale d'énergie primaire du pays.

D'ici 2030, le NDC prévoit d'utiliser 24 % des ER, dont 14 % par la biomasse. La conversion des déchets biologiques en biogaz est une grande opportunité pour Cuba. Le secteur cubain du biogaz est en croissance constante. Les records pour 2013 font état d'une augmentation annuelle de 88,4 % de la bioénergie produite par les usines de l'État (avec 279 digesteurs opérationnels sur les 390 existants) tandis que les usines de biogaz individuelles sont passées de 3 000 en 2015 à 5 000 en 2019 . Le NDC mentionne l'importance du biogaz pour la production de biofertilisants afin de remplacer les engrais chimiques, de réduire davantage les émissions de GES et la pollution et de fermer le cycle des éléments nutritifs. En réponse aux difficultés économiques de la période, l'agroécologie a appliqué des principes écologiques aux systèmes et pratiques agricoles de Cuba afin de parvenir à la durabilité, la souveraineté et la sécurité alimentaires. Le modèle agroécologique est recommandé pour atteindre une plus grande résilience face aux adversités climatiques qui sont fréquentes sur l'île (ouragans, sécheresses, inondations) ; la restauration 

des sols dégradés par l'utilisation intensive de produits agrochimiques ; une alimentation saine ; une plus grande productivité à moyen et long terme ; un nombre accru d'emplois verts ; une moindre dépendance à l'égard des intrants, des investissements et des devises étrangères. D'ici 2018, 136 000 agriculteurs intègrent le mouvement d'agroécologie entre agriculteurs (MACAC), pratiquant la gestion durable des terres sur 30 000 ha et l'agroforesterie sur les 20 000 autres ha. Malgré cette tendance, le modèle agricole conventionnel est encore largement utilisé à Cuba.

S'appuyant sur les connaissances acquises grâce au programme d'échange d'experts UE-Cuba, cette action de l'AMCC+ prévoit d'améliorer l'utilisation du biogaz et d'amener la production de biométhane pour les transports publics dans un contexte rural, où la pénurie de carburant est une limitation aux activités productives et sociales. Les principes de l'agroécologie, la participation des citoyens et l'amélioration des compétences de gestion et de gouvernance de la municipalité contribueront à promouvoir la durabilité sociale, économique et environnementale de cette solution innovante et à tester les possibilités de reproduction et de mise à l'échelle.

Martí, dans la province de Matanzas, a été choisie comme municipalité pilote en raison de sa représentativité du contexte rural cubain, notamment sa vulnérabilité aux événements extrêmes, de sa collaboration à long terme avec le Parlement européen et de son expérience dans les domaines suivants : gestion des impacts environnementaux négatifs des systèmes agricoles extensifs conventionnels ; décontamination des grandes exploitations porcines de l'État ; production de biogaz dans les fermes de l'État ; promotion de l'agriculture agroécologique ; pilotage de différents projets financés au niveau municipal par des fonds internationaux ; capitalisation du soutien du centre de recherche Indio Hatuey sur les fourrages et le biogaz et de l'université de Matanzas.

GCCA's action programme
Geographical scope
Country groups
Initial GCCA/GCCA+ contribution
4,400,000.00 €

Objectifs spécifiques

L'objectif spécifique est de soutenir la municipalité de Martí dans l'adoption d'un modèle économique circulaire, résistant au climat, économique, social et environnemental durable, intégrant la production alimentaire et énergétique..

Comme indiqué dans Cuba ́s NDC, la résilience énergétique et la réduction des émissions de GES peuvent être obtenues en maximisant l'utilisation de la biomasse et des biodéchets comme sources d'énergie dans le cadre de systèmes agricoles et d'exploitation plus durables. Les processus participatifs menés par la municipalité garantiront la participation active de tous les secteurs et de tous les groupes de personnes, y compris les personnes vivant dans des situations vulnérables, avec des actions de transformation spécifiques en faveur des femmes et des jeunes.




Produits

Résultat 1 : Renforcement des capacités et des infrastructures pour la production de biogaz efficace sur le plan économique et environnemental (à faible teneur en carbone) et son utilisation dans les transports publics.

Résultat 2 : Mise à l'échelle de systèmes agroécologiques à faible teneur en carbone et résistants au climat

Résultat 3 : Renforcement de la capacité de la municipalité à gérer des projets et à promouvoir des campagnes et des actions diversifiées et inclusives en faveur de l'environnement et du climat




Activités

Résultat 1 : Renforcement des capacités et des infrastructures pour la production de biogaz efficace sur le plan économique et environnemental (à faible teneur en carbone) et son utilisation dans les transports publics.

Ce produit comporte six activités, qui s'articulent chronologiquement autour des étapes suivantes :

1.1.  Lancement des phases d'appel d'offres et de construction pour la production de biométhane

1.1.1. définition des biodéchets durables et à faible teneur en carbone utilisés pour la production de biogaz, stabilisation de leur quantité et de leur qualité tout au long de l'année (c'est-à-dire % de CH4) afin de réduire la demande énergétique des phases de nettoyage et de pressurage et identification des chaînes de valeur durables (par exemple, grâce à un élevage durable) ;

1.1.2. révision de la conception et de la planification de l'activité de mise en Å“uvre sur la base des études réalisées par le groupe de travail de Martí et d'une étude supplémentaire à réaliser avant la fin de l'année dans le respect des mesures de sécurité pour : i) l'usine de valorisation du biogaz résilient avec des panneaux de contrôle pour les contrôles de qualité ; ii) l'usine de remplissage de carburant, y compris les installations accessoires ; iii) la meilleure méthode de transport de la ferme à la station de remplissage (gazoducs ad hoc, bouteilles de biométhane comprimé)

1.1.3. la demande et l'obtention des autorisations nécessaires, y compris l'évaluation des incidences sur l'environnement et l'étude technologique ;

1.2.  Élaboration d'un dossier d'appel d'offres complet et lancement des marchés de travaux

1.2.1. l'appel d'offres, la soumission et l'importation d'équipements résistant au climat pour la phase de valorisation et de remplissage du biogaz et de construction

1.2.2. l'appel d'offres, la soumission et l'importation d'autobus pour le transport public adaptés au biométhane et/ou leur conditionnement

1.3.  Test des systèmes introduits et ajustements nécessaires

1.3.1. la connexion et les essais de l'usine de valorisation du biogaz permettront de produire du biométhane de haute qualité et de répondre aux normes et standards internationaux requis. L'analyse tiendra également compte de la relation existant entre la qualité du biogaz et du biométhane et la consommation d'énergie requise.

1.3.2. le raccordement et l'essai de l'installation de remplissage et l'essai du biométhane dans les autobus importés rendront l'installation de remplissage opérationnelle, y compris le type de raccordement à la source de biométhane et le remplissage des autobus.

1.4.  La mise en Å“uvre, la supervision, le suivi et l'évaluation des services de bus utilisant du biométhane permettront de suivre les performances de la production de biogaz et de biométhane durables et leur utilisation dans les transports publics, ainsi que les performances des bus dans différentes conditions climatiques et routières et la maintenance des différents équipements et investissements.

1.5.  Réalisation d'études techniques de soutien pour des décisions éclairées sur l'utilisation du biogaz et du biométhane pour l'intensification des activités

1.5.1. la réalisation d'études spécifiques sur les facteurs économiques, environnementaux, techniques, socioculturels (sensibles aux droits de l'homme et à l'égalité des sexes) et institutionnels, comprenant l'analyse des obstacles et l'identification des facteurs clés de succès, couvrant l'analyse de la chaîne de valeur durable et du marché, l'analyse économique et financière du projet pilote et les possibilités de transposition à plus grande échelle aux niveaux local, régional et national. Parmi celles-ci, des études seront menées pour assurer la normalisation du biométhane à Cuba selon les normes internationales et l'optimisation des lignes de bus afin de réduire la consommation d'énergie et les émissions de GES.

1.5.2. élaborer un plan de suivi et d'évaluation qui peut aider à mesurer les émissions de GES évitées au niveau local et permettra de mesurer la rentabilité et l'efficacité de l'intervention (euros/kW installés ou m3 de biogaz par an et tCO2 eq économisés).

1.6. Évaluation des capacités et formation du personnel technique et des autorités municipales : les différents acteurs seront formés à l'utilisation d'équipements résistants au climat, à la collecte de données et aux compétences de gestion pour faire face aux situations d'urgence, notamment celles liées aux mesures de sécurité. Les documents d'appel d'offres exigeront également un contrat de maintenance entre la municipalité et le(s) fournisseur(s) d'équipements à biométhane. Le personnel et les artisans locaux seront formés à l'entretien et à la réparation des bus à biométhane et des installations de remplissage. La coordination avec l'activité 1.5 permettra de responsabiliser les acteurs clés dans la collecte et l'utilisation des données de surveillance et de créer la capacité locale pour la gestion et l'entretien corrects des services et des équipements. L'UEB de Colón recevra une aide pour améliorer la qualité de son service, notamment en améliorant les trajectoires des bus et en respectant l'environnement. La possibilité d'inclure des cours de renforcement des capacités à plus long terme au niveau universitaire sera analysée et si possible l'action soutiendra le développement des programmes d'études.

Résultat 2 : les systèmes agroécologiques à faible teneur en carbone et résistants au climat sont mis à l'échelle

2.1.  Identifier les approches agroécologiques les plus appropriées pour les petits agriculteurs afin d'inclure ou d'améliorer la production de denrées alimentaires, de fourrage et de biogaz durables

2.1.1. réalisation d'une analyse participative des modèles agroécologiques mis en Å“uvre avec les agriculteurs pilotes pour le compte du projet Biomasse et des possibilités de l'adapter davantage à la situation locale (sols pauvres, agriculteurs vivant en dehors de leurs terres, besoins spécifiques en nourriture et en fourrage, participation limitée des femmes et des jeunes).

2.1.2. identification de solutions à faible niveau d'intrants, de machines simples et de modèles productifs qui bénéficieront de la production de biogaz (décontamination, valorisation des déchets biologiques, accès à l'énergie et aux biofertilisants).

2.2.  Faciliter l'accès à des technologies simples et à des intrants productifs (par exemple, des bioproduits locaux, des semences adaptées), à des équipements résistants pour la production de biogaz au niveau de l'exploitation agricole ou de la maison et à d'autres technologies qui pourraient renforcer l'utilisation du biogaz (par exemple, partage de biodigesteurs entre agriculteurs voisins, ou utilisation partagée d'équipements pour la compression, le stockage ou la distribution du biogaz).

2.3.  Formation et expérimentation de modèles agroécologiques adaptés et utilisation de technologies simples avec des agriculteurs et/ou des groupes d'agriculteurs partageant les équipements (y compris les femmes et les jeunes)

2.3.1.  Fournir une assistance technique et, dans le cadre de l'approche d'agriculteur à agriculteur, faciliter l'échange d'expériences sur l'agroécologie et le biogaz avec d'autres expériences dans la province et au niveau du pays, celles-ci pouvant inclure des journées d'exploitation ou des visites aux membres du MACAC.

2.3.2.  Promotion d'activités productives ciblées dans les exploitations agricoles ou les groupes d'exploitations agricoles afin de promouvoir l'utilisation de l'énergie pour les entreprises économiques mixtes (au niveau familial, coopératif ou autre type d'association) qui favorisent l'utilisation de produits du biogaz (bioénergie, digestats) qui apportent une valeur ajoutée à la chaîne durable du biogaz au niveau de l'exploitation agricole (par exemple, préparation et commercialisation d'engrais, utilisation de l'énergie excédentaire pour la transformation des produits agricoles) et qui facilitent la participation des femmes et des jeunes (quota d'au moins 30%).

2.4.  Réalisation d'études techniques de soutien pour la prise de décisions éclairées sur l'utilisation de biogaz durable au niveau de l'exploitation ou parmi des groupes d'agriculteurs, amélioration de la qualité des engrais (correction du pH, utilisation de bioproduits).

Résultat 3 : Renforcement de la capacité de la municipalité à gérer des projets et à promouvoir des campagnes et des actions diversifiées et inclusives en faveur de l'environnement et du climat

3.1. Élaboration et mise en Å“uvre d'un plan de communication visant à promouvoir la sensibilisation au climat et à l'environnement dans la municipalité en ce qui concerne la production durable de biogaz et de biométhane et l'agroécologie

3.1.1. Impliquer activement les producteurs et les citoyens dans la portée de l'action et la définition de sources diversifiées de biodéchets durables dans les zones agricoles et résidentielles proches de l'usine de biométhane et des possibilités de développement de chaînes de valeur durables (de matières premières) ;

3.1.2.  Impliquer activement les écoles, les élèves et les parents : les élèves des classes supérieures peuvent promouvoir des actions de sensibilisation impliquant les plus jeunes (par exemple, le mouvement étudiant sur le changement climatique), les femmes et les hommes peuvent être activement impliqués dans les programmes pour les vergers scolaires et domestiques

3.1.3.  Les écoles, les parents et les élèves participent activement à des activités pratiques (par exemple, collecte des déchets alimentaires des cuisines et des maisons communales pour la production de biométhane durable, de biogaz ou utilisés dans les vergers scolaires)

3.1.4.  Actions de sensibilisation et formations sur les avantages et les possibilités offerts par l'agroécologie partagées avec les producteurs, au moins 30 % de femmes et de jeunes

3.2. Identification et conception de projets de diversification économique qui favorisent l'accès au travail des femmes et des jeunes ainsi que des personnes à mobilité réduite et/ou handicapées, en mettant l'accent sur une économie verte et résiliente (par exemple, vergers de banlieue, production de verdure)

3.3. Assistance technique et formation à la municipalité (par exemple, par le biais de formations techniques ou d'écoles professionnelles) et aux institutions liées à cette action de l'AMCC+ pour la conception et la gestion de projets et d'activités durables et résilients selon une approche participative, inclusive et fondée sur le genre et les droits (par exemple, soutien à la gestion de cette action de l'AMCC+ et de ses nouveautés ; création d'un système de suivi ; restructuration des installations thermiques touchées par les ouragans Irma ; évaluation des pistes pour améliorer la résilience climatique des services fournis par la municipalité ; utilisation du biogaz pour la réfrigération).

GCCA+ Cuba, Municipality of Martí: Towards a low-carbon sustainable development model

GCCA+ Cuba, Municipality of Martí: Towards a low-carbon sustainable development model

At a glance

As Small Island Developing State, Cuba ́s natural resources and economy are strongly affected by climate change. Energy and food (imports and production) are the most vulnerable sectors and the greatest Green House Gas (GHG) emitters (76 % and 15 % respectively as per data of the National Determined Contributions). Sustainable bioenergy and agroecology are recognized as innovative economic models that would allow Cuba in keeping low carbon and environmental footprints while pursuing energy and food sovereignty, provided the necessary biomass to produce bioenergy is produced in a sustainable way. In that sense, the Renewable Energy Directive defines sustainability criteria that have been reinforced in its recast (RED II). This GCCA+ action foresees to upgrade the use of sustainable biogas and brings the production of biomethane for public transport in a rural context, where fuel shortage is a limitation to productive and social activities. Agroecology’s principles, citizen participation and improved Municipality’s management and governance skills will help promote social and economic inclusion and environmental sustainability of this innovative solution and test which are the opportunities of replication and scaling up in Cuba. The action will directly benefit the 22 000 habitants of Martí by providing a cleaner and more efficient transport service, healthier agriculture products and better working conditions in farms, increased resilience of the agriculture and energy sectors and decreased GHG emissions.

Duration
Status
Active programmes
Region
Caribbean
Country
Cuba
Countries involved
1
Total budget
4,40 M€
Sector(s)
GCCA priority area(s)
Country Context

Cuba’s National determined Contributions (NDC) well evidence how natural resources and economy have been strongly affected by environmental degradation (soil salinization and degradation, invasive species, water and air pollution), the impacts of climate change (sea level rise, water salinization, an increase of temperature of 0.9°C and a decrease of 10% in precipitation) and the intensification of weather and climatic extreme events (tropical hurricanes and droughts) .

Energy and agriculture are the most vulnerable sectors and the greatest GHG emitters (76 % and 15 % respectively). The two sectors are rooted on conventional economic models, highly dependent on fuel-fossil and external unsustainable inputs. Imports for both sectors of around 80% of national needs expose the country to other external shocks, namely global price fluctuations and strengthening of the economic embargo.

In pursuing energy and food sovereignty, the Ministry of Economy and Planning (MEP) recognises bioenergy and agroecology as innovative economic models that will allow Cuba in keeping low carbon and environmental footprints while satisfying the needs of Cuban people. However, this depends on the supply of biomass in sustainable conditions, in order to avoid negative impacts like deforestation, biodiversity loss or reduced carbon sinks. The use of residues and manure to produce bioenergy, in line with circular economy principles, is also an option. In 2017, Renewable Energy (RE) represented 4.5% of the country's total primary energy production.

By 2030, NDC plans for 24% of RE of which 14% by biomass. Conversion of biowaste in biogas is a great opportunity for Cuba. The Cuban biogas sector is steadily growing. Records for 2013 report an annual increase of 88.4% of bioenergy by State plants (with 279 operative digesters out of the existing 390) while individual biogas plants increased from 3,000 in 2015 to 5,000 in 2019 . The NDC mentions the importance of biogas for the production of biofertilisers so to replace chemical fertilisers, further reducing GHG emissions and pollution and closing nutrient cycle. In response to the economic hardship during the periodo especial , agroecology applied ecological principles to agricultural systems and practices in Cuba in order to achieve food sustainability, sovereignty and security. The agroecology model is recommended to achieve greater resilience in the face of climatic adversities which are frequent to the island (hurricanes, droughts, floods); restoration 

of soils degraded by intensive agrochemical use; healthy food; greater productivity in the mid-long term; increased number of green jobs; less dependence on external inputs, investments and foreign exchange. By 2018, 136,000 farmers incorporate the Farmer-to-Farmer Agroecology Movement (MACAC), practicing sustainable land management in 30,000 ha and agroforestry in other 20,000 ha. Despite this tendency, the agriculture conventional model is still largely used in Cuba.

Building on the knowledge acquired thanks to the EU-Cuba Experts’ Exchange Programme, this GCCA+ action foresees to upgrade the use of biogas and bring the production of biomethane for public transport in a rural context, where fuel shortage is a limitation to productive and social activities. Agroecology’s principles, citizen participation and improved Municipality’s management and governance skills will help in promoting the social, economic and environmental sustainability of this innovative solution and test which are the opportunities of replication and scaling up.

Martí, in the Province of Matanzas, has been selected as a pilot Municipality due to its representativeness of the Cuban rural context, including its vulnerability to extreme events, the long term collaboration with MEP and its experience in: coping with the negative environmental impacts of conventional agricultural extensive systems; decontaminating large State pig-rearing farms; producing biogas at State Farms; promoting agroecological farming; piloting different internationally funded projects at municipality level; capitalising the support of the research centre Indio Hatuey on forage and biogas and of Matanzas University.

GCCA's action programme
Geographical scope
Country groups
Initial GCCA/GCCA+ contribution
4,400,000.00 €
Specific objectives

The specific objective is to support the municipality of Martí in adopting a climate-resilient, economic, social and environmentally sustainable, circular economic model integrating food and energy production..

As outlined in Cuba ́s NDC, energy resilience and decreased GHG emissions can be achieved by maximising the use of biomass and biowaste as energy sources within more sustainable farming and agricultural systems. Participatory processes led by the Municipality will ensure the active involvement of all sectors and all groups of people including the people living in vulnerable situations, with specific transformative actions towards women and young people.

Main activities per result

Output 1: Enhanced capacity and infrastructure for the production of economically and environmentally (low carbon) efficient biogas and its use in public transport.

This output entails six activities, chronologically articulated in the following steps:

1.1.  Launching of the tendering and construction phases for biomethane production

1.1.1.  definition of the sustainable, low-carbon biowaste used for the production of the biogas, its quantity and quality stabilisation along the year (i.e. % of CH4) to reduce the energy demand of the cleaning and pressuring phases and identification of sustainable value chains (e.g. through sustainable animal husbandry);

1.1.2.  revision of the design and planning of the implementing activity based on the studies carried out by the work group of Martí and an additional study to be carried out before the end of the year in compliance with safety measures for: i) resilient biogas upgrading plant with control panels for quality checks; ii) fill refuelling plant including accessory installations; iii) best method of transport from the farm to the filling station (ad-hoc gas pipelines, cylinders with compressed biomethane)

1.1.3.  request and obtention of the needed authorizations, including environmental impact assessment and technological study;

1.2.  Developing of a comprehensive tender dossier and launching of works contracts

1.2.1.  tendering, bidding and importing of climate-proof equipment for biogas upgrading and filling and construction phase

1.2.2.  tendering, bidding and importing of buses for public transport adapted for biomethane and/or their conditioning

1.3.  Testing of the introduced systems and needed adjustments

1.3.1.  connection and testing of biogas upgrading plant will allow in producing biomethane of high quality and responding to required international norms and standards. The analysis will also consider the relationship existing between the quality of biogas and biomethane and required energy consumption.

1.3.2.  connection and testing of the filling plant and testing of biomethane in imported buses will make operative the filling plant, including the type of connection to the source of biomethane and the filling of buses.

1.4.  Implementation, supervision, monitoring and evaluation of bus services using biomethane will track the performance of the production of sustainable biogas and biomethane and their use in the public transport and the performance of the buses in different climatic and road conditions and the maintenance of the different equipment and investments.

1.5.  Realisation of support technical studies for informed decisions in the use of biogas and biomethane for scaling-up of activities

1.5.1. realisation of specific studies on economic, environmental, technical, socio-cultural (human-rights and gender sensitive) and institutional factors and include analysis of barriers and identification of key success factors, covering sustainable value chain and market analysis, economic and financial analysis of the pilot and opportunities for scaling-up at local, regional and national level. Among them, studies will be carried out for ensuring the normalisation of biomethane in Cuba following international standards and optimisation of bus routes to reduce energy consumption and GHG emissions.

1.5.2. developing a monitoring and evaluation plan that can help measure avoided GHG emissions at local level and will allow measure the cost effectiveness and efficiency of the intervention (Euro/kW installed or m3 biogas per year and tCO2 eq saved).

1.6. Capacity assessment and training of technical personnel and municipality authorities: the different stakeholders will be trained in the use of climate-resilient equipment, data collection and management skills for cope with emergencies, especially those related to safety measures. Tendering documents will also require a maintenance contract between the municipality and the provider(s) of biomethane equipment. Local staff and artisans will be trained for maintenance and repairing of biomethane buses and filling plant. The coordination with activity 1.5 will empower key actors in collecting and using monitoring data and create the local capacity for the correct management and maintenance of service and equipment. The UEB of Colón will be supported in improving its quality service, including improved bus trajectories and environmental compliance. The possibility to include longer term capacity building courses at university level will be analysed and if possible the action will support the development of the curricula.

Output 2: Climate-resilient and low carbon agroecological systems are scaled-up

2.1.  Identify the most suitable agroecological approaches for small farmers to include or enhance the production of sustainable food, fodder and biogas

2.1.1.  realisation of participatory analysis of the agroecology models implemented with pilot farmers on behalf of the Biomass project and opportunities for further adapting it to local situation (poor soils, farmers living outside their lands, specific food and fodder needs, limited women and young involvement).

2.1.2.  identification of low-input solutions, simple machineries and productive models that will benefit of the production of biogas (decontamination, valorisation of biowaste, access to energy and biofertilizers).

2.2.  Facilitating the access to simple technologies and productive inputs (e.g. local bio-products, adapted seeds), resilient equipment for biogas production at farm or house level and other technologies that could enhance the use of biogas (e.g. shared biodigesters among nearby farmers, or shared use of equipment for biogas compression, storage or distribution).

2.3.  Training and testing of adapted agroecological models and use of simple technologies with farmer and/or groups of farmers sharing equipment (including women and young people)

2.3.1.  Provide technical assistance and, as part of the farmer to farmer approach, facilitate exchange of experiences on agroecology and biogas with other experiences in the Province and at country level, these can include farm’s days or visit tours to MACAC members.

2.3.2.  Promotion of targeted productive activities at farms or group of farms to promote the use of energy for joint economic enterprises (at family, cooperative or other type of association level) that favour the use of biogas products (bioenergy, digestates) that provide added value to the sustainable biogas chain at farm level (e.g. preparation and commercialisation of fertilizers, use of surplus energy for farm products’ transformation) and that facilitate the participation of women and young people (quota of at least 30%).

2.4.  Realisation of support technical studies for informed decisions in the use of sustainable biogas at farm level or among groups of farmers, improvement of the quality of the fertilizers (correction of pH, use of bioproducts).

Output 3: Enhanced Municipality’s capacity for project management and promotion of diversified, inclusive environmental and climate-smart campaigns and actions

3.1. Development and implementation of a communication plan to promote climate and environmental awareness in the municipality related to sustainable biogas and biomethane production and agroecology

3.1.1. Actively involving producers and citizens in the scope of the action and the definition of diversified sources of sustainable biowaste in the agricultural and residential areas near the biomethane plant and opportunities to develop to sustainable value chains (of feedstock);

3.1.2.  Actively involving schools, students and parents: students of the higher classes can promote awareness actions involving younger students (e.g. student climate change movement), women and men can be actively involved in programmes for school and home- orchards

3.1.3.  Schools, parents and students are actively involved in practical activities (e.g. collection of food waste from communal kitchens and houses for the production of sustainable biomethane, biogas or used in school orchards)

3.1.4.  Awareness actions and trainings on the benefits and opportunities provided by agroecology shared with producers, at least 30% women and young people

3.2. Identification and design of economic diversification projects that favour access to work for women and young people as well as people with reduced mobility or/and disability, with a focus on a green and resilient economy (e.g. suburban orchards, production of greenery)

3.3. Technical assistance and training to the municipality (e.g. through technical trainings or vocational schools) and the institutions related to this GCCA+ action in the design and management of sustainable, resilient projects and activities with a participatory, inclusive and gender and rights based approach (e.g. support in the management of this GCCA+ action and its novelties; creation of a monitoring system; restructuration of the thermal facilities affected by Irma Hurricanes; evaluating pathways for improving climate resilience of the services provided by the Municipality; use of biogas for refrigeration).