GCCA+ support for enhancing communities resilience to climate change and related disasters in Bangladesh

At a glance

The EU Global Climate Change Alliance+ Flagship Initiative aims to strengthen dialogue and cooperation among developing countries most vulnerable to climate change by supporting their efforts to develop capacity to implement adaptation and mitigation responses. An intensive identification and formulation phase resulted in the design of the ‘GCCA+ support for enhancing communities' resilience to climate change and related disasters’ project, fully aligned with GCCA+ priorities. Also in 2011 Bangladesh received support from the GCCA, which contributed to the Bangladesh Climate Change Resilience Fund.

Duration
2017-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Status
Active programmes
Région
Asie
Pays
Bangladesh
Total budget
8,00 M€
Sector(s)
GCCA priority area(s)
Countries

Le Bangladesh, un des pays les moins avancés (PMA), se classe au cinquième rang des 110 pays les plus vulnérables aux catastrophes naturelles liées au changement climatique. Les changements dans le régime des précipitations, l'augmentation des températures et la fréquence élevée des phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes sont à l'origine de graves conséquences supplémentaires, à savoir la salinité de l'eau et des terres cultivées, les pénuries d'eau prolongées et les conséquences des marées hautes et de l'élévation du niveau de la mer.
Les catastrophes liées au climat ont, à elles seules, un impact considérable sur l'économie. Selon une estimation prudente, les cinq grandes catastrophes survenues depuis 1998 ont causé des dommages à hauteur d'environ 15 % du PIB, avec une moyenne de 2,7 % par événement. Les faibles rendements des cultures et les pertes de revenus agricoles qui en découlent poursuivent la tendance à la migration des zones rurales vers les centres urbains. On prévoit que 40 % des terres productives seront perdues dans la région sud du Bangladesh en raison d'une élévation du niveau de la mer de 65 cm d'ici les années 2080. Environ 20 millions de personnes dans les zones côtières du Bangladesh sont déjà affectées par la salinité des sols et de l'eau potable. L'élévation du niveau de la mer et l'intensification des cyclones et des marées de tempête pourraient intensifier la contamination des eaux souterraines et de surface et provoquer davantage d'épidémies de diarrhée.


L'impact du changement climatique est aggravé par la pauvreté généralisée, car les pauvres sont les plus vulnérables aux conséquences des catastrophes et du changement climatique, la grande majorité de la population étant dépendante de la mousson pour ses moyens de subsistance, et les principales saisons de culture et de pêche chevauchant les saisons de sécheresse, de cyclones et d'inondations. La Banque mondiale a estimé que les zones exposées aux cyclones augmenteront de 26 % et que la population touchée augmentera considérablement d'ici 2050. Cela se traduit par un impact direct sur les moyens de subsistance des pauvres, puisque le taux de salaire et les possibilités d'emploi diminuent considérablement lors des catastrophes.
Malgré ces défis, le Bangladesh a obtenu des résultats significatifs en termes de croissance économique, de réduction de la pauvreté et d'amélioration de la santé et de l'éducation. Entre 2000 et 2010, le taux de pauvreté a diminué de 1,7 point de pourcentage par an, passant de 49 % en 2000 à 31,5 % en 2010. Dans ce contexte, le paysage politique en matière de changement climatique continue d'évoluer, car il est de plus en plus reconnu que le changement climatique constitue une menace sérieuse pour la volonté du Bangladesh de devenir un pays à revenu moyen à l'horizon 2021.

GCCA's action programme
Geographical scope
Initial GCCA/GCCA+ contribution
8,000,000.00 €

Objectifs spécifiques

Établir une planification améliorée et inclusive au niveau local et un mécanisme de financement renforcé pour les solutions d'adaptation au changement climatique, basées sur la communauté, et par le biais des gouvernements locaux.




Produits

Les objectifs seront atteints en obtenant les résultats suivants :

Résultat 1 : Renforcement de la capacité des collectivités locales, des ménages et des autres acteurs locaux à élaborer des plans locaux intégrant des mesures d'adaptation au changement climatique et la gestion des risques de catastrophes.

Résultat 2 : Mise en place d'un mécanisme de financement pour aider les gouvernements et les communautés locales à mettre en œuvre des mesures d'adaptation au changement climatique.

Résultat 3 : L'expérience et les données probantes informent et contribuent à améliorer davantage les politiques et les pratiques des UP et des systèmes nationaux en matière d'adaptation au changement climatique.




Activités

Pour le résultat 1 :

  • Élaborer et mettre en œuvre le plan de renforcement des capacités du CCA, qui comprend des formations spécifiques et ciblées à l'intention des collectivités locales, des ménages et d'autres acteurs locaux.
  • Faciliter le développement et l'amélioration des PADL pour répondre aux actions locales de l'ACC.
  • Mobiliser les ménages vulnérables pour qu'ils participent aux actions locales d'ACC et en tirent profit.

Pour le résultat 2 :

  • Mettre en place un mécanisme financièrement viable par lequel le gouvernement du Bangladesh canalisera des ressources supplémentaires pour des actions de CCA, parallèlement à ses transferts fiscaux actuels aux gouvernements locaux.
  • Concevoir et mettre en œuvre le volet "subventions à l'épreuve des changements climatiques" du mécanisme, en fonction des résultats, conformément au système actuel de transferts fiscaux aux administrations locales.
  • Concevoir et mettre en œuvre le mécanisme financier de résilience communautaire qui fournira des ressources pour des solutions d'ACC au niveau des communautés et des ménages pour les ménages vulnérables.

Pour le résultat 3 :

  • Concevoir et mettre en œuvre des systèmes permettant de tirer des enseignements au niveau local et d'alimenter le dialogue politique au niveau national.
  • Recueillir et partager les expériences qui soutiennent et entravent le processus de financement local du climat.
  • Informer et plaider pour l'adoption de politiques nationales qui adoptent la méthodologie proposée.
  • Intégrer les enseignements du cadre fiscal local pour le climat dans le cadre fiscal national pour le climat.

GCCA+ support for enhancing communities resilience to climate change and related disasters in Bangladesh

GCCA+ support for enhancing communities resilience to climate change and related disasters in Bangladesh

At a glance

The EU Global Climate Change Alliance+ Flagship Initiative aims to strengthen dialogue and cooperation among developing countries most vulnerable to climate change by supporting their efforts to develop capacity to implement adaptation and mitigation responses. An intensive identification and formulation phase resulted in the design of the ‘GCCA+ support for enhancing communities' resilience to climate change and related disasters’ project, fully aligned with GCCA+ priorities. Also in 2011 Bangladesh received support from the GCCA, which contributed to the Bangladesh Climate Change Resilience Fund.

Duration
to
Status
Active programmes
Region
Asia
Country
Bangladesh
Countries involved
1
Total budget
8,00 M€
Sector(s)
GCCA priority area(s)
Country Context

Bangladesh, a Least Developed Country (LDC), ranks fifth among those 110 countries in the world that are most vulnerable to climate change related natural disasters . Changes in rainfall patterns, increased temperatures and the high frequency of extreme weather events are the cause of severe further impacts i.e. salinity in water and crop land, extended water shortages, and the consequences of high tides and sea level rise.
Climate related disasters alone have considerable impact on the economy. A conservative estimate indicates that the five major disasters since 1998 caused damage to the extent of roughly 15% of the GDP with an average of 2.7% per event . Low crop yields and associated income loss from agriculture will continue the trend toward migration from rural to urban centres. 40% of productive land is projected to be lost in the southern region of Bangladesh due to a 65cm sea level rise by the 2080s. About 20 million people in the coastal areas of Bangladesh are already affected by salinity in soils and drinking water. Rising sea levels and more intense cyclones and storm surges could intensify the contamination of groundwater and surface water causing more diarrhoea outbreaks .
The impact of climate change is compounded by widespread poverty , because poor people are most vulnerable to the consequences of disasters and climatic change, with the vast majority of the population being dependent on the monsoon for their livelihoods , and the major cropping and fishing seasons overlapping with drought, cyclone and flooding seasons. The World Bank has estimated that cyclone exposed areas will increase by 26% and the affected population will increase significantly by 2050. This translates into a direct impact on livelihoods of the poor, since wage rate and job opportunities drop drastically during disaster events. 
Despite these challenges, Bangladesh has seen significant results achieved in terms of economic growth, poverty reduction and improvements in health and educational status. During 2000-2010, the rate of poverty fell by 1.7 percentage points per year, falling from 49% in 2000 to 31.5% in 2010 . In this context, the policy landscape for climate change continues to evolve with increasing recognition that climate change poses a serious threat to Bangladesh’s desire to become a middle income country by 2021.

GCCA's action programme
Geographical scope
Initial GCCA/GCCA+ contribution
8,000,000.00 €
Specific objectives

To establish improved and inclusive local level planning and a strengthened financing mechanism for community based climate change adaptation solutions through local governments.

Main activities per result

The objectives will be achieved by delivering the following results:

Result 1: Strengthened capacity of local governments, households and other local stakeholders to develop local plans that integrate climate change adaptation measures and disaster risk management.

Result 2: Established financing mechanism to fund local governments and communities for implementing climate change adaptation measures.

Result 3: Experience and evidence inform and contribute to further improvements in policies and practices for UPs and national systems in relation to climate change adaptation.

--

 

For Result 1:

  • Developing and implementing the CCA capacity enhancement plan, which includes specific and targeted training events covering local governments, households and other local stakeholders.
  • Facilitating the development and improvement of LDPs to address local CCA actions.
  • Mobilizing vulnerable households to participate in, and benefit from local CCA actions.

For Result 2:

  • Establishing a financially sustainable mechanism whereby the Govt. of Bangladesh channels additional resources for CCA actions, alongside its current fiscal transfers to local governments.
  • Designing and implementing the Performance Based Climate Resilient Grants component of the mechanism in alignment with the current system of fiscal transfers to LGIs.
  • Designing and implementing the Community Resilience financial mechanism that will provide resources for community and household level CCA solutions for vulnerable households.

For Result 3:

  • Designing and implementing systems to learn lessons at the local level and informing the policy dialogue at the national level.
  • Collecting and sharing of experiences supporting and hindering the process on local climate financing.
  • Informing and advocating for adoption of national policies that embrace the proposed methodology.
  • Integrate local climate fiscal framework lessons into the national climate fiscal framework.